Our Staff

We have a committed group of staff who are dedicated to making our students’ time at The Wensleydale School a success.

Our Senior Leadership Team is:

Julia Polley Headteacher

Julia turned to teaching after a successful military career as an RAF Officer. Passionate about young people she became our Headteacher after moving to the area in 2015.

Charles Barnett Assistant Headteacher - Raising Standards Lead

Charles Barnett is involved with many aspects of life at Wensleydale. His main role is to lead Teaching and Learning as the Raising Standards Lead

Mark Ashcroft Assistant Headteacher - Student Development, Community Engagement, Data and Exams

Mr Ashcroft is passionate about the school, having taught at Wensleydale for over a decade. Both of his children also came to Wensleydale.

Our Wider Senior Leadership Team also includes:

Richard Lundie Access and Inclusion Lead

Richard joined us in 2018 as a Teacher of Science.  Richard brings a wealth of experience and is currently Access and Inclusion Lead for the school.

The school has an amazing and supportive group of middle leaders, teachers and our invaluable support staff.

Our Teaching staff are

  • Jodie Bassnett-Barker – Maths
  • Jon Berry – PE, Sport, First Aid Officer, CCF, DofE
  • Claire Cullen – Art
  • Michelle Coupland-Buckley – Design & Technology
  • Chris Ellis – History,  Careers Lead
  • Alex Foster- Business Lead
  • Joshua Hadfield – Progress Leader Key Stage 3, Music, Drama
  • Ruth Hancock – English, Drama
  • Mike Hill – Computing
  • Dawn Hewitt – French
  • Kate Huitson – Geography
  • Daniel Jolley – Science
  • Autumn Kelly-Farrell – English, Sociology, Life and Society
  • Amy Leathley- PE
  • Nadia Lewis – Faculty Leader (English & Performing Arts), English, Media
  • Joanna McGowan- Faculty Leader Science, Science, Biology, Psychology
  • Ryan Rowan- Interim Head of Maths, Computing, Post 16
  • Shannen Rowan – Science, Maths
  • Phil Smith- English
  • Rachel Smith- Progress Leader for KS4, Science, PGCE Mentor
  • Jackie Vogel – C and I Specialist teacher
  • Victoria McArthur – SENCO

Admin and Site staff

  • Kerry Gilbey – School Office Manager
  • Natalie Gorman – School Office, Exams and Data
  • Kensa Bouzidi – School Office
  • Barbara Dent – The Hub and SEND Support
  • Shaun Martin- Site Manager
  • Danielle Harker- Site staff
  • Chloe Wright – Site staff

Education Support Staff

  • Stacey Adams- GTA (SEND)
  • Nakita Bell – GTA (SEND)
  • Victoria Brice-GTA (SEND)
  • Julie Cooper – Attendance and Behaviour Officer/ CCF
  • Eve Cornforth-GTA (SEND)
  • Olivia Gardner-GTA (SEND)
  • Ashleigh Grant- HLTA (TMP)
  • Hollie Hall- Cover supervisor
  • Emma Ellis- GTA (SEND)
  • Gemma Fee – GTA (SEND)
  • Lindsey Hennigan- GTA (SEND)
  • Sally Housley – HLTA (SEND)
  • Cheryl McDougall -GTA (SEND)
  • Sam Poole HLTA (TMP)
  • Tracy Sockett-CCF SSI